Family Magic by Patti Larson – Review/Promo/Giveaway

Family Magic by Patti Larson – Review/Promo/Giveaway


family magic banner

BLURB:
Ever since I was a little girl, I dreamed of being ordinary. That my mom baked cookies instead of brewing spells. That my dad lived with us, not on the demon plane. All I ever wanted was to be like everyone else.

I know what you’re thinking. You’d die to live in my world. How cool would it be if magic was real and you could do anything?

You have no idea. Here I am in another new town, but it’s the same old thing. Cheerleader bullies? How original. Friendless again? Who’s surprised? I suck at fitting in. Especially when I’m in the middle of saving my family from total destruction.

My name is Sydlynn Hayle, and that’s my life.

Trade you.

Review:

This book made my head spin…in a good way.  With all the twists, turns, different plots, yes my head was swimming but it all made sense.  This is the first book of about 20 so the need for Ms. Larson’s world building and character development is necessary.  (Jeez, I sound like Harlie)  I mean, really when you have a coven of witches, demons from another world, vampires, people out to destroy the coven and let’s not forget about going to a new school and dealing with all the politics of that joyish time in your life.  Jeez..Syd should be a walking, talking mess but she’s not.

No, I couldn’t imagine what her life really was but I felt for her.  My older sister was way more popular than me in school.  Moving on…Ms. Larson wrote Syd with just enough teenager angst but she never came across as whiney.  I mean being half witch/demon can’t be easy for anyone but Syd deals with it in her own way.  Yes, did she have “witch” for a mother?  Sure what teenage girl didn’t think her mother was a “witch”?  I sure did and I know Harlie did, too.  I thought her inner monologues were great, too.  This book had me howling in laughter at times.  Ms. Larson really nailed the YA voice with Syd.  Snarky, angsty without the self-deprecation, and yes, she had the hots for two boys.  🙂  My kind of girl.  Keep the options open.  LOL!

I know I haven’t said much about the book itself but there is a ton going on and it is the first book of the series so I don’t want spoil it for anyone.  I just suggest that if you are looking for a funny, heartwarming look at a teenager’s life with a witch of mother, demon for a father, dealing with being the new kid at school, wishing to be normal but in an instant you are having to acknowledge your heritage and embrace it.  Because if not…all of hell will break loose…this book is definitely for you.

Plus…on a serious note, Patti Larson can flat out write a fantastic book with characters that I came to enjoy and rooted for.  🙂

Pink

BIO:family magic PL_204crop

Patti Larsen is an award-winning middle grade and young adult author with a passion for the paranormal. But that sounds so freaking formal, doesn’t it? I’m a storyteller who hears teenager’s voices so loud I have to write them down. I love sports even though they don’t love me. I’ve dabbled in everything from improv theater to film making and writing TV shows, singing in an all girl band to running my own hair salon.

But always, always, writing books calls me home.

I’ve had my sights set on world literary domination for a while now. Which means getting my books out there, to you, my darling readers. It’s the coolest thing ever, this job of mine, being able to tell stories I love, only to see them all shiny and happy in your hands… thank you for reading.

As for the rest of it, I’m short (permanent), slightly round (changeable) and blonde (for ever and ever). I love to talk one on one about the deepest topics and can’t seem to stop seeing the big picture. I happily live on Prince Edward Island, Canada, home to Anne of Green Gables and the most beautiful red beaches in the world, with my very patient husband and four massive cats.

ONLINE LINKS:

FAMILYMAGICebook

• Amazon Author page http://www.amazon.com/Patti-Larsen/e/B005H8I3KO/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1
BUY NOW LINK:
• Amazon http://www.amazon.com/Family-Magic-Patti-Larsen/dp/1466451033/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1367727100&sr=8-1
• B & N http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/family-magic-patti-larsen/1107044264?ean=9781466451032

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Comments

  1. Maria D. says:

    Thanks for the spotlight on this book and author – both are new to me

Leave a Reply

