Quiet On The Set by Jessica Lave – Review/Excerpt/Giveaway

Quiet On The Set by Jessica Lave – Review/Excerpt/Giveaway


VBT Quiet on the Set Banner copy

PLEASE MENTION THE PRIZE THAT THE AUTHOR WILL BE GIVING AWAY: Jessica will give a $20 Fandango eGift Card to one randomly drawn commenter.  Just leave a comment and your email addy.   Easy peasy!  Good luck!

QUIET ON THE SET

By

Jessica Lavé

BLURB:  

 

When her screenplay gets accepted to a local LA film festival, 23-year-old Rylie Cates heads to Tinseltown, where she is thrust into the spotlight as her career takes off.

As she struggles to live up to her newfound success, Rylie meets the people who will become her friends, her guides to the city and the movie business, and ultimately, her “LA family.”

Despite her best intentions, deciphering the politics surrounding her new career proves difficult, and she unwittingly makes a few enemies on her path to success.

Confronted by scheming studio executives, philandering movie stars, and the perpetual lure of the bottle, Rylie relies on her new friendships to help her navigate life, love, and business in Hollywood.

EXCERPT 2 from Quiet on the Set by Jessica Lavé

 

A little background: This scene is from “Chapter Six: Bad Habits.” Rylie has recently had her heart broken and has wandered off to be by herself at a friend’s party when she meets Shane. They’ve already been chatting for a couple minutes in this scene:

‘You new here?’ Shane said.

‘I just moved here in May.’

‘And Wes Kern already broke your heart?’

‘Sad, but true,’ Rylie said.

‘You’ll move on. He’s just a kid having fun being famous.’

‘I hope it’s soon. Heartbreak sucks.’

‘Truer words.’ He told her about a girl who broke his heart, and it was such a sad story, she cried. Maybe for him, and maybe for herself. In five weeks, she hadn’t cried over Wes, and maybe she just was overdue. He held her, comforting her without trying to quiet her.

‘I don’t get why your date would leave you. I sure wouldn’t,’ Rylie said, sniffling.

‘I guess I’m too old.’

‘You’re not old.’

‘Too old for her.’

‘What is she, picky? You seem like a catch to me,’ Rylie said.

‘She’s twenty-five. I’m thirty-four.’

‘By that standard, you’d be too old for me, too.’

‘Yeah?’

‘Twenty-three.’

‘Wow. Am I too old for you?’

‘Age is irrelevant if you like each other.’

‘I like you. Even watching you cry, you’re beautiful.’

‘You better be careful or I might fall for you, too.’

‘Promise?’ he said. He kissed her then, gently, and she kissed him back. She couldn’t have protested if she wanted to, and she didn’t. The kiss only lasted a moment, until a few boisterous party-goers decided to skinny dip. Shane smiled, sensing their mutual embarrassment at being caught. ‘Can I take you home?’ he said.

Rylie nodded. ‘That’d be great. Thanks.’

Interview Questions from Pink

 

Top ten things you don’t know about me:

1. Cotton or Silk?

This is possibly one of the most unexpected questions I’ve had on this tour! As comfortable as silk is, heat makes me miserable, so I usually go with cotton because it’s cooler and more breathable.

2.  Champagne/beer/wine?

Beer, definitely. I went to college up in Fort Collins, i.e. microbrew heaven, so a trip to one of the local breweries was a regular occurrence. I was very lucky to have access to such a wonderful and delicious piece of Colorado culture for so many years living there, but I got spoiled. I can’t drink cheap beer anymore because it pales in comparison to all the local micros I got used to!

3.  Plotter/pantser

I think I am a plotter most of the time. I’m a little OCD and I get easily frazzled when I’m overwhelmed by too much information, so I plot and outline to keep things organized so I don’t lose track of what I’m working on. I wasn’t always a plotter, though, which is probably why I have so many unfinished stories lying around! Figuring out that I needed to do more plotting in my writing was a big step toward helping me to stay focused and learning how to overcome obstacles and blocks during the writing process.

4.  Describe your workspace

My workspace is not really any designated area—just wherever I happen to be when I feel like writing. I use a laptop, so I don’t have to sit down in the same place every day to write. I can take my “workspace” with me. As long as I can find a place with free Wi-Fi and an outlet for my charger, I can write just about anywhere. And if that’s not an option when the creativity starts to flow, I’ll pick up a pen and paper and capture it that way.

5.  Sports fan or just tolerate it?

I’m a pretty big hockey fan, but I don’t really follow any other sports. However, I’m still a little upset over the lockout this season, so to be honest, the NHL is still on the naughty list right now in my book. I think what I enjoy most is the camaraderie that sports can create among fans, whether they unite in a sports bar or on Twitter from across the world. Aside from hockey, I like going to baseball games, I can get into football when it’s on, and it’s fun to follow some of the big tournaments like Wimbledon and March Madness, but I wouldn’t call myself a diehard sports fan.

6.  Who is your biggest influence on writing?

Elmore Leonard. While movies and television have a lot to teach about great dialogue, seeing it in print is a rare occasion, and I like to think I learned to write dialogue from the best. Even if my characters are nowhere near as glib and clever as his always are, I think they hold their own.

7.  Favorite food

Anything Italian. I’d eat nothing but pizza, pasta and all other manner of carbs every day, if I could. Lasagna, ravioli, sausage, cannolis—it’s all good. Unfortunately, garlic and tomatoes give me heartburn, so I can’t indulge as often as I’d like.
8.  When did you start writing?

When I was 11, I wrote my first original story. It was probably between 15 to 30 pages, and it was the first time I remember really sitting down to try to create something on my own like that. It didn’t take long for me to write something else, and I just kept going—with the stories getting longer each time. I think I “peaked” in word count a few years back, but the enjoyment of putting words on the page, whether by hand or typewritten, has never left me. Even if I wasn’t publishing or wasn’t able to, I’d still be writing. Storytelling is so fulfilling for me on so many levels.

9.  If money were no object, where would you like to live?

New York. I’ve dreamed about living in New York for a long time, and I even thought about going to college there, but it’s never really been a financially feasible option. I’ve only visited twice, but it’s one of my favorite places that I’ve traveled. The energy there is unlike any other place I’ve been. I think being a writer has something to do with my appreciation for that city. So many books and films and poems have been written about that city and it’s produced so many talented and beloved writers throughout the years that I think most writers dream about living there at some point.
10.  What’s next for you?

Short answer: I’m not sure yet! Long answer: I’m in the process of writing an international adventure/thriller type of story at the moment, and I also have two other stories I wrote last year that I’d like to get back to work on at some point. But right now, I’m just enjoying writing again after months of editing and getting Quiet on the Set ready for publishing!

Review:

Pink has an admission.  When I started reading this book, I thought this book was going to be about a bunch of back stabbing girls/women and that it would read like a Kardashin show.  Wow, was I so wrong.  This book is a simple story, yes simple story about a young woman who follows her dreams and deals with boyfriends, drinking to dull the pain and realizing the best thing to ever happen to you is right in front of your face.  *duh*  *slaps forehead*

I loved Rylie right from the start.  She’s smart, funny and not afraid to stand up when it comes to her dreams.  The scene with the woman agent is priceless.  At 23, Rylie is no wallflower when it comes to making her dream of getting her screenplay filmed.  Gutsy is what my mom would call her.  Unfortunately, her relationships with a couple of the boyfriends went south.  Rylie realizes after her relationship with Wes, that her drinking was getting out of control.  Some women eat, she drinks.  It happens.  I go numb and sleep forever but hey, that’s just me.

Here are a couple of things that I truly liked about the book:

1.  The women friends that Rylie has are generally nice people.  One is an actress and the other is a wanna be actress but finds her true calling in teaching drama.  The relationships that Rylie has with Polly and Karen real and true.  No back stabbing.  Thank you Ms. Lave.  🙂

2.  The men or boyfriends in Rylie’s are not users but truly men that mean no harm but when they get too close to her, she does somewhat bail on the relationship (see Wes).  Besides Devon (agent) and Finn (director) and I will say Ford (in the end), her dating life really does suck.  The one constant male friend is Shane.  Oh Shane…(see above excerpt), he is perfect for her but they are truly friends.  They do EVERYTHING together:  premieres, parties, industry things, hang out with each other and pick each other up when they have failures but without the sex.  It was nice to see their friendship develop and grow.  I will say when I got the “Jealousy” chapter, I was thrown for a loop.  I didn’t expect it and it was a goodie.

3.  That leads me to another thing…I loved the chapter names.  The names were the theme that ran through that particular part of the book.

4.  This was actually a quick read for it being a long novel.  I was pulled in from the start and could not put it down.  My only complaint (its small) was that sometimes it was too dialoguing.  Not much action.  That said, the dialogue was realistic and kept you in the story.

5.  If you are looking for sex in the book, you won’t find it.  It’s all closed-door except for kissing and the girls talking about it.  Karen’s mind is always in the gutter.  🙂

6.  The secondary characters are wonderful.  They don’t take over but are there for Rylie and the reader.

7.  As far as a NA book, there is no major angst, drama, people sleeping around, betrayals and just mean people.  It was a good, solid book about a young woman following her dream and dealing with the ups and down of her new life in Hollywood.  That’s what I call a great book in any genre.  🙂

Oh and I’m stealing Harlie’s graphics again.  🙂

5harliesPink

AUTHOR INFORMATION:jennifer lave

 

By day, I work in a cubicle tending to an e-commerce website. By night, I blog, I review television shows and films, and occasionally, I settle down long enough to write a novel. I’ve always had a diverse set of interests, which has led me to study everything from ethics to yoga to film, but the one thing that has stayed consistent is my enthusiasm for writing. Writing is my way of bringing all of my interests together—I may not be able to speak six languages, pick the lock on a door, or cook a five-course meal without a recipe, but I can write about a character who can, and that’s the next best thing!

Visit me on my website:
http://www.jessicalave.com/

Follow me on Twitter:
https://twitter.com/jessinsists

Connect with me on Goodreads:
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6428146.Jessica_Lave/

Buy the paperback from Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/Quiet-Set-Jessica-Lave/dp/1482794586/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1364606566&sr=1-5&keywords=quiet+on+the+set

Buy the ebook for Kindle:
http://www.amazon.com/Quiet-On-The-Set-ebook/dp/B00C2JP4PS/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1364514591&sr=1-4&keywords=quiet+on+the+set

Buy the paperback from CreateSpace:
https://www.createspace.com/4209363

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments

  1. Thank you for hosting

  2. That’s actually a really sweet excerpt. I wish guys would kiss me and make me feel better after a breakup! I just have girlfriends armed with ice cream…but that’s pretty good too!

    andralynn7 AT gmail DOT com

  3. Thanks for hosting me today at Love, Laughter, Friendship, and thank you so much for the review! I’m so glad you liked the book! (And I especially love that you appreciated the chapter titles!)
    I’ll be away during the day today, but I look forward to reading the comments and any questions anyone might have later this afternoon!

  4. Maggie Thom says:

    The book sounds quite interesting. Congratulations on your book Jessica and the awesome review – very detailed. Love it.

  5. Chelsea B. says:

    Such fun questions! I adored the review. I’m really looking forward to this novel!

    justforswag(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  6. SHELLEY S says:

    GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR BOOK AND THANKS FOR THE GIVEAWAY! calicolady60@hotmail.com

  7. Catherine says:

    Pink…What a great review. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Like Jessica, I’ve always had that NY livin’ dream. I grew up right across the river and spent lots and lots of time in Manhattan. I fantasized about living in a great brownstone, walking everywhere, being in a New York state of mind….It’s a great dream.
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

    • I’ve visited a couple times and I loved it. I’ve let it slip to the back of my mind more over the past few years, but it’s still there! Maybe someday 🙂

  8. Maria D. says:

    Thanks for the spotlight on this book, for the fun interview and for the great review – Quiet on the Set definitely sounds like a book I want to read. I have to agree with Jessica about the “cotton or silk” question – while I love the look of silk…need the breathable cotton….lol

    Thanks for the giveaway

    junegirl63 at gmail dot com

  9. Jennifer Crawford says:

    The excerpt looks great! Thanks for the giveaway!
    j_crawford@alumni.clemson.edu

Leave a Reply

