Romancing the Hop

Romancing the Hop


What is your favorite thing about Romance? Well, we authors are ready to share our romantic tips and favorite romance reads! Starting on Friday and ending on August 31st, over 100 Authors and Bloggers will share their favorite things about romance, reading romance, and dating.

And while we do that, we are EACH doing a giveaway. Yep. There will be over 100 giveaways on each blog hosted by that Author or Blogger.

But that’s not all….

We have THREE grand prizes. You as a reader can go to EACH blog and comment with your email address and be entered to win. Yep, you can enter over 100 times!

Now what are those prizes?

1st Grand Prize: A Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

2nd Grand Prize: A $130 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

3rd Grand Prize: The following Swag Pack!

Yep. ALL of that! Whoot!

My giveaway is a $10 GC of the ebook publisher/Amazon/B&N. Winners choice.

What does romance mean to you? I mean, besides chocolate, flowers and dinner? I’m going to be celebrating my 8th wedding anniversay on September 4th with my best friend in the whole world. Have we had issues? You bet. It happens but I know that we love each other and that is the most imporantant thing. Plus, we communicate. Sometimes he rolls his eyes at me but he listens. I listen to him, too. My husband is a man of few words (as most men are) but when he does talk, I listen. Sometimes I don’t want to hear what he has to say and vice versa. But isn’t that what a healthy relationship is all about? The ups, downs, complete turnarounds? His idea of romance, and mine too, is helping me around the house. When our son was younger he would take a day off and take Brian for the day. That day would be Momma Day. Just me, myself and I. Loved it and he will still take a day with Brian just so I can recharge. *sigh* I don’t need all the frills and customary things that define romance. I never have and never will. Yes, would flowers be nice? Sadly, I’m allergic to most. One day, he brought me a potted plant and I cried. It was my first “flower” that he ever gave me.

When we moved to Gun Barrel City over 6 years ago, my husband started his job on our anniversary and has worked on our anniversary ever since. Ugh! To my surprise he told me this week that he was taking the whole day, yes the WHOLE day off so we can spend our anniversary together. Just the two of us; okay, until we have to pick our son up from school. To me that is romance. He actually took time to be off my work that day, decide what we were going to do and will make it happen. He wants to go shopping (gasp-he HATES to shop) and go to a very nice lunch. Just the two of us. No son, no work, no internet, no nothing. Just the two of us. Yes, a good old fashioned date.

Glad I got my hair cut this week and gasp, I might even wear some makeup. Now, what to wear on that date?

Comments

  1. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary!! A new beginning for you guys this year! And just something that makes you feel better.

    Francesca
    fmg_29(at)yahoo(dot)com

  2. I totally agree – romance isn’t about the things you get each other – though that can be nice:) It’s really about being together with someone you like and love, can trust and who trusts you back. Communication between lovers is a must!

  3. Congratulations! Time together really is the best gift ever!

  4. Kelsey S. says:

    Happy Anniversary! Romance really is about being with that special person. My husband isn’t into the flowers and chocolate, but just cuddling with him is romance to me.

    kesummer69 at gmail dot com

  5. Happy Anniversary. Romance is about the little things, being together, and working things out together.
    janna@jannashay.com

  6. Congratulations on your anniversary! That is terrific 🙂

    Thank you for the giveaway :0)
    Liz
    liz at fictional candy dot com

  7. My dh and I are going on our first date in a long time tonight as well. All our kids are going to a high school football game or grandma’s and so we are going out! yay!

  8. Sounds like a great marriage.
    To me the key is communication. We talk about everything. What we do and don’t like, to what we think and feel.
    The intimacy {not sex, but the feeling of connection} is the most important part to me.
    Thanks for sharing your story with us, and the chance to win.
    bidelia78@yahoo.com

  9. happy anniversary – I hope its a wonderful day out for you …

    we do those pretty regularly -just to get a change. But- we also don’t have any little people here so that helps..

    thank you for participating

    glhince@gmail.com

  10. It sounds to me like you have a great romance. For me the key is doing a the little things rather than grand gestures
    fencingromein at hotmail dot com

  11. Romance is about knowing someone better than you know anyone else, and yet still being surprised once in a while.

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  12. Crystal Young says:

    Congrats!!! I thank it’s the little things and do for each other
    crystaley73 at yahoo dot com

  13. Happy Anniversary, hope you have a wonderful day.
    Romance for me is all the little things that we can do for one another, sometimes the simplest things mean the most.
    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  14. What a wonderful gift. I can’t believe there is a place named Gun Barrel City. I think you have mine, but it not, it’s ella at ella quinn dot net.

  15. Happy Anniversary!

    Diana
    bookofsecrets(at)yahoo(dot)com

  16. Oh, he is a total keeper!!!

    ~Krista
    pinkbonanza{ AT }gmail{ DOT }com

  17. Happy 8th Anniversary!
    bituin76 AT hotmail DOT com

  18. Happy Anniversary to you and your husband. My husband and I don’t do a big celebration , we stay home and cook dinner and just be with each other. Neither one of us are big on going out. Comes from working in retail I think….LOL

    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

  19. Lisa Walker says:

    Romance is doing something for your significant other that makes them feel special!
    sqwalker2@hotmail.com

  20. Your husband sounds sweet!
    mcv111 at hotmail dot com

  21. Hope you have a great day!
    For me, romance is all about the trust and respect built between the characters. Since I write BDSM, these elements are very important.
    Thank you for participating in the blog hop!
    qwilliarain(at)gmail(dot)com

  22. He’s a keeper! Have a great day! :0)

    Jesse
    jesse.kimmelfreeman@gmail.com

  23. Inlove the sexual chemistry of a great romance story and am still a hea girl.

    Caity_mack@yahoo dot com

  24. Happy Anniversary…Thank you for the chance to win…

    ronnkelly3@aol.com

  25. I love reading romance, thanks for the giveaway.

  26. Romance is about building relationships 🙂 Fun hop! Love the blog!
    krystalshannan@yahoo(dot)com

  27. Marie Haney says:

    Happy Anniversary! 🙂
    Romance is about loving someone enough to give all of yourself to the other person. That makes those little romantic gestures of appreciation mean so much more! Thanks for a wonderful giveaway! 🙂

    songbird1613 at yahoo dot com

  28. Crystal Craig says:

    Congrats on your 8 years of marriage! 🙂 I agree as well, it’s the little things that really make someone feel loved and over all happy. 🙂 Thank you for sharing that wonderful snippet of your life and thank you for the giveaway as well.

    craigcrystal(at)ymail(dot)com

  29. Susan Smith says:

    Happy Anniversary, I love the little suprises from my husband

  30. My favorite thing about romance is that the little things mean so much. My hubby still insists on holding my hands and I think it is very romantic. Happy Anniversary! Thank you for the giveaway,
    kaylyndavis1986@yahoo.com

  31. Happy Anniversary!!! and many many more!!!

    thanks for the contest!!
    forettarose@yahoo.com

  32. Happy Anniversary!
    by.evie at yahoo dot com dot br

  33. Thanks for being part of the hop

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

  34. Romance to me is surprising each other all over again.
    Thanks for the chance!

    spamscape [at] gmail [dot] com

  35. Thanks for participating! Really like the hop so far!! I love reading, especially romance. I love the happy ending that is garenteed at the end. My favorite book is Lover Mine by JR Ward! I love John Matthew and Xhex. My favorite romantic moment was when my fiancé asked me to marry him! We meant two years ago right around when summer was ending! I think it is romantic when he brings me flowers because no one else has ever done it! My friend and I went out for our last big night out before classes started again. Thanks so much! Hope everyone else is having a great long weekend!!

    prettyunicorn78@yahoo.com

  36. Happy Anniversary! 8 years is something to celebrate, and time together is a wonderful way to do it! I wish you many more wonderful years together.

    Romance to me is doing the little things, holding hands, opening doors, or bringing flowers. Big gestures are unnecessary.

    Barbara
    bbsbooknook@aol.com

  37. Haha, the first thing that popped into my mind after reading the question were flowers, chocolate and dinner xDD But romance is also the first kiss, just taking a walk or a romantic dance. It can have so many forms!
    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

  38. Happy Anniversary. Loved the story. I love the small gestures like him cooking dinner or the affectionate kisses when I least expect them. Thanks for the giveaway.

    mythic021@gmail.com

  39. What a nic epoxy. Thanks for sharing.

    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

  40. What a great hop! Grand prizes, old friends to visit and new ones to meet… and chances to win at each stop too. I’m in Blog heaven! :-}
    I think romance is about the little things and how they make you feel so special.

    Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35(at)yahoo(dot)com

  41. Thanks for the awesome hop and giveaways! This is so much fun! Thank you! My favorite thing about romance is the romance. lol I love the characters, the plots, the HEA’s, the love. I love it all!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  42. Elizabeth H. says:

    Happy Anniversary! Love to read romance books because I like to know that at least someone is getting an HEA, even if the characters are only fiction! Thanks for joining the hop and the awesome giveaway!
    ehaney578 at aol dot com

  43. Thanks tons for the hop! I only read romance. My fav is Lora Leigh! Going to parade Monday with brothers and sisters! Should be FUN!
    swkimbell@yahoo.com

  44. Happy Anniversary. Romance is all about the little things you do for each other every day.
    Kit3247(at)aol(dot)com

  45. Lona Stringer says:

    I find it extreamly romantic when I’m get home from a long day at work and my husband has dinner made and a massage waiting for dessert.. Thx for giveaway.

    blinkysthebest at aol dot com

  46. Congrats on the Anniversary!!! Just celebrated 11 yrs married and 13 years together in June.

    I think that the longer you are with someone the definition of romance changes. In the beginning it’s all about the grand gestures, and the gifts. Later it’s all about the little things they do for you like cook, clean, give you time for a bubble while he watches the kids, rub your back or feet if he knows your tired. Those things are romantic to me now. I would rather he spend any money he would spend on wining, dining, and gifts on something we need in the household. Every once in a while we have a date night and that’s great, but it is usually inexpensive and just us spending time together.

    sam1slim1@gmail.com

  47. Gun Barrel City? Is that a real town? What a name!
    My anniversary is also in September…but we’re up to #24 this month.
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

  48. Happy Anniversary! To me, romance is all the simple little gestures that people do knowing that that’s what will make their significant other feel loved and cherished. Thanks for being part of the blog hop and for the giveaway!
    flava_sava_chick@yahoo.com

  49. What a great post! I also think Romance is him doing or saying things that show he cares for your comfort or well being…like helping around the house etc.

    Happy Anniversary!! It’s my eldest sons birthday, so I will think of you having a wonderful day also.

    maryjooller [at] yahoo [dot] com

  50. Sounds like a great day ahead…Happy Anniversary. That is romance to me….
    Romance is about putting another before yourself. Wanting to do the little things so that that other person is happy, thus making you happy.
    mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  51. Romance, to me, is about doing things for the other person just because you know it’ll make them happy–even if they don’t know you did it.

    AnnaM.
    doxisrcool at aol.com

  52. happy anniversary, romance is also being there for when times are tough

  53. congratulations on your anniversary! That is a nice day that you have planned. We’ve hit some big ones and this one hit hard. we’ve been together 30 years. Now we celebrate by travelling. Went to Italy and had a great time.
    edor628@verizon.net

  54. Yazmin Rangel says:

    Thank you for being part of the blog hop. 🙂

    yazmin.z.rangel(at)gmail(dot)com

  55. Happy Anniversary! I think that some people have lost the sense of what romance truly is. Sure it’s nice to get gifts but honestly? I’d rather have a man that’s my partner in life. Someone I can lean on when I’ve had a hard day, someone who isn’t going to treat me like I’m his maid and is going to step up and help me with EVERYTHING that needs to be done and at the end of the day, is going to let me tell him and show him how much I love him. That to me, is the ultimate definition of romance.

    Adria
    adria(.)rose_03(at)yahoo(.)com

  56. Happy anniversary!

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  57. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    I just love romance so much!
    red_tigergirl2(at)hotmail(dot)com

  58. Romance is having my husband make me laugh giddily still 15 years later.

    jochibi AT yahoo DOT com

  59. Congrats on the anniversary! I agree, romance is always about the big gestures, but about spending time together and enjoying each others company! When I think back on my still young marriage (just celebrated 2 years in june, although we started dating just over 6 years ago now!), some of the most special days were the ones we spent together doing things we most enjoy, even if it was just sitting around watching movies and laughing together.

    snhoveln(at)gmail(dot)com

  60. Happy Anniversary! I hope you have a great anniversary.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  61. Tammy Turner says:

    Why I like Romance Novels….The reason I like Romance Novels so much is because it is one place where I can be anywhere like England, Scotland, Rome, Ireland, or anywhere in the US. I can also be in any time like 1200’s Scotland, 1500’s England, 1900’s Chicago. I can be anyone like a princess, a servant, a werewolf, a duchess, a vampire, or a lost soul. But no matter what I get the privilege and the experience to overcome many different obstacles and find love. I am a mother of three teenagers as well and there are many days when I need an escape and my heart needs a rest from the trials of being a parent and trying to do what is best for everyone but yourself. I have overcome cancer, loss, and financial problems and Romance Books let my heart soar and feel free. Let me tell you in this world, and during this time where life can have so many struggles it is great that you can be, have, and do so many things to find love and romance and still be yourself!

    angelheart618@gmail.com

  62. Happy Anniversary 🙂

    Thansk for the being a part of the blog hop and sharing
    I am really enjoying find other authors that I may enjoy reading as well 🙂

    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

  63. Happy Anniversary! What id you wear? Thanks for being a part of the hop. I hope that you had a great labor day weekend!
    jessangil at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

