Storms and why I hate them

Storms and why I hate them


Sorry this post won’t be that stimulating…okay the picture is but the post won’t be. I’m terrified of storms. Whew…feel better already. You would think that a grown woman would get over her childhood fear but nope, not me. As the storms rolled into the Dallas-Fort Worth area, I prayed that they would miss me. Sadly, they didn’t. My area south of Dallas didn’t get the tornadoes but we got the lighting, thunder and wind. As most of y’all know, I’m home alone this week. Its the kiddo’s spring break so he and hubs went to see the in-laws on the Texas coast. Before you ask why I’m not with them, its called vacation time and that’s something that I don’t have at work. I have 5 freaking days off a year. Yep, that’s all… I digress..as I type, my windows are still rattling from the thunder miles and miles away. *shivers*

Anyway…when I was an infant a terrible storm rolled into my little town in Oklahoma where we were living at the time and unwittingly, my grandmother woke me from my nap and at that very instance a loud clap of thunder and then bright lighting filled my room. My grandmother and parents were convinced that the event scared me and thus my fear of storms. I’ve been in tornadoes before as a child. Trust me, when you are visiting all of your relatives in Oklahoma you figure out where to hide in a storm. Plus, my other grandmother had a storm cellar. I know that my story doesn’t sound rational but it is. BTW, I’ve been told that I’m part witch because of my instincts and other “country” abilities. My uncle’s wives have always said that my mom, her sister and daughter and I are part witch. Longer story for another time. 🙂

I will admit that I finally stopped slipping into bed with my parents when it stormed until I was pre-teen. When we moved into a two-story house they made the small bedroom, my second bedroom. Yep, I had two bedrooms. One for when it stormed and then my main bedroom. When I lived alone, I would sleep on the couch when it stormed. I couldn’t fall asleep in my bedroom. Sad, I know. Of course, I’ve been with hubs since 1999, so I don’t worry about it as much. Now that he isn’t here, I really don’t want to sleep in our room. I need someone to cuddle and make me feel safe. I guess Chase (the picture) will have to do.

Love y’all!

Comments

  1. Most storms I love but tornadoes I do NOT. I hated that part of living in OK years ago! I was terrified, growing up in FL I had dealt with tornadoes before but nothing like the ones they get… I feel for you, truly.
    Best I can do is send a digi hug **hug** and hope that your night will pass safely.

    • My husband was born and raised on the Texas coast so he is used to hurricanes, tropical storms and such. At least with those types of storms you have fair warning. Not so with tornadoes.

  2. Melissa Limoges says:

    I couldn’t help but laugh at your “country” abilities. Sorry to hear about the bad weather though.

    • Melissa, my abilities are funny and most city folk just stare at me and shake their heads. I’ll post a blog about it later. 🙂

      • Melissa Limoges says:

        Oh no, I understand completely. My mom’s family was raised in the backwoods of Alabama and I have plenty of extended family in the deep bayou portion of Louisiana. I couldn’t begin to tell you some of the peculiar things I’ve heard. I’m sure you can imagine.

        I’ll be waiting to read that particular blog post when you write it. 🙂

  3. We weathered the storm, my friend. Glad you’re ok.

  4. Maria D, says:

    I’m glad you made it through the storms and that most of the damaging weather missed your area. Lol at your relatives thinking you are part witch…..

  5. I used to love storms when I was a kid, and even as an adult I loved thunderstorms, although I don’t know why. My house (the one I’ve lived in at the time — two different ones) has been struck by lightning three times now, one time resulting in a fire (I was a toddler for that). But thunderstorms didn’t really start to bother me until a few years ago when one spawned tornadoes that destroyed a few large houses and a *school* near us. That was the first time in my life I remember having damage to major structures here, as our area isn’t “supposed” to have big tornadoes. I’ve worried about them ever since, and we’ve still not had anything like what makes the news. I’m so glad to hear you’re okay! I guess Chase did his job, huh? :c)

  6. hey you get to be scared of storms. – around here a storm is some thunder and lightning and rain – you guys in Texas know how to have a storm!

    Glad you’re safe.

  7. Hey, neighbor, I live north of Dallas, and my stomach sank when my daughter sent me a text from school – “k we in a real tornado drill. u ok?” i just thought of not being there with her.
    Needless to say, everything turned out okay for us folks in the north DFW area, but, an upwards of 13 tornadoes yesterday afternoon makes me goosebumpy with a miraculous feeling of NO fatalities.
    I’m crazy in that I would be a storm chaser in another life, as it all fascinates me and almost lulls me to sleep. I also grew up in a small Oklahoma town and my gma just had a new “hidey hole” installed in her yard. (after a tornado came through one night a couple of years ago and we felt it go over the house and tore apart a years old pear tree and other things around the farm.)
    I’m glad the sun is shining today for you, and hope you get some rest and your tension about the weather melts away.

    • Where in Oklahoma? I was born in Ada. My mom’s side is from Pauls Valley and my dad’s side is from Duncan and Ada. Small, small world. I lived in Dallas for 37 years and honestly can’t remember the storms being that bad. My grandmother had a cellar that had to be cleaned every year. Yuck!

      I know, no deaths. Unbelievable.

  8. Maggie O'Malley says:

    The pic is fantastic. Glad you’re safe.

  9. Paula Krimer says:

    I understand entirely why storms are threatening, and I am so glad you are safe.

    But I love them. For me, a storm is a cleansing. Trees bend in the winds, leaves aflutter. Exhilarating shock of a lightning’s explosion, blinding my eyes and ringing in my ears. The deep power of the earth, and the sky, and even of the sea as water lashes the ground turning dirt to mud. The sun never shines brighter than the day after a good storm.

  10. Tonya Jewell says:

    I understand completely and can relate whole-heartedly. Living in Wichita, Kansas, I have been through my share of bad storms. April 26, 1991 was my first close call with tornados. I had many friends seriously hurt in that storm and can still rememer quite vividly the aftermath. However, the storm that truly terrified me was the tornado that went through May 2, 1999. It hit the apartment complex I lived in and the houses and apartment building surrounding mine were all leveled. Tto this day when the sirens go off I quite literally shake. I am thankful that you are safe & sound. However, in regards to your picture, I think I would love something scary to come to me just so I could cuddle up next to that!! thanks for sharing!!

  11. I’m so sorry you don’t like storms. I love them. When I was little my mom would make forts from blankets and chairs. When I was in college, the first time, we’d have hurricane parties.

  12. That was incredible yesterday. The storms seemed to split over my house and go around us. I’m glad you are okay. And thank goodness for David Finfrock.

  13. I love storms but am terrified of snakes. (Even though I’m a herpetologist by training.) Some fears are just in you to the bone, no matter how old you get!

  14. I don’t have much experience with tornadoes but about 15 years ago we had one go over the top of our home. We didn’t have any damage but the areas around us did. Since that time I still love thunderstorms as I use to but become much more nervous and attentive to the least little sound. Chase can definitely do in a pinch!

  15. Chase definitely works for me. 🙂

  16. My husband and I watched the national news tornado coverage and I cried. I’m so sorry for what happened in Dallas and thankful you’re all right. The devastation across our heartland is horrifying. I hope our national defense people figure out a way to break up tornadoes before they become monsters that damage property and take innocent lives.

    Big cyber hugs–Adele

  17. Thanks Adele. It is very scary. I can’t help to think that if Dorothy, in the movie Twister, could really fly it would be a big help in the warning system.

  18. I am an avid weather photographer. I am fascinated by storms. I am in awe of the power that they have, and though scary, that have a mystifying beauty to them. I hate that while tornadoes and storms can be deadly and damaging, they intrigue me. I don’t get storms like that in Arizona much, but when there are storms, I can be found taking pictures. But- they still scare the crap out of me! I want to capture lightning photos, but when it comes, I get really scared and nervous. I call myself the Storm Goddess, but yes, storms still terrify me. The irony!

    Glad that you were safe.

  19. My son is fascinated by them, too. I think that they are pretty but I’d rather be cuddled up with my eyes and hears shut.

  20. Marika, I understand completely how you feel. Nothing to be ashamed of. You have every reason to fear tornados especially. I’m so glad you’re okay. When I heard about the storms, I thought how glad I was that they weren’t hitting when we flew into DFW on our way to San Antonio a few weeks ago. We rarely have tornados on the East Coast, but just the thought of them scares me to death.

    • You would think that living in Tornado Alley my whole I would get used to them but nope. I don’t think I ever will. My son knows where to go in our house and he’s been taught in school what to do, too. In 1977, Dallas was hit with an ice storm that crippled the area for a couple of weeks. I was ten years old at the time and I would rather go through that again than what happened yesterday.

  21. BTW-That picture sure caught my attention.

  22. A natural witch? How cool for you.
    Tornadoes are the one storm type thing that I never could get used to – terrifying! And the sound . . . I feel for you. Hope all is well now.
    (and yummy distraction you have posted up there ;c) )

  23. Jennifer Lowery (Kamptner) says:

    Thankfully I have no reason to fear storms, so I love them. Love to write during storms. I hope your hubby comes home soon so you can cuddle with him and feel safe 🙂 That pic sure does work though!

  24. ebondreams says:

    Good to see you made it through…*hugs*

    Nichelle

  25. Good to see you made it through…*hugs* I have been through a lot of different kinds of storms. Tornadoes, Blizzards, Typhoons, Hurricanes….part of being a military child.

    Nichelle

  26. I’m so glad you made it through. I saw the destruction on the news this morning.
    I’m not afraid of thunderstorms, but that is because where I live they are rare. And we don’t have hurricanes or tornadoes, but we have something just as dangerous and destructive–maybe even more so–to worry about here. Earthquakes.
    I live on Vancouver Island, off the west coast of Canada. Right along the very active Ring Of Fire. All the huge earthquakes of late have happened along the ROF. We are overdue for the “big” one. A 9 or higher on the Richter scale.
    Sometimes I worry about it so much I want to move, then other times I forget about it. But after that huge earthquake and tsunami in Japan last March, I’m freaked out. But our lives are here so here we stay.

  27. D'Ann Lindun says:

    I’m glad you’re ok. After living in Colorado most of my life, it was quite a shock to my system to move to Jackson, Mississippi, and hear the storm warning sirens. *shiver* Luckily, there was never a storm, but it freaked me out.

  28. Maw 25-Sorry so late getting here (Memeber of Computer’s 4 Toddlers!) In MI. we don’t get bad storms. When I was 5 or so my Mom had to drag me from our open porch-the wind blew and rain came with tornado warniong. Think-Dorothy of Ozland. I love em! I sleep best when the weather is crazy. Mom told me the Leprachauns bowling in the sky made the thunder!! Of course I believed her! Sorry you’re afraid of them. hopes and prayers for you to lose that fear. Steven L.

Leave a Reply

